PSL Awards: Patrick Maswanganyi, Ronwen Williams & Relebohile Mofokeng win big

Orlando Pirates and Mamelodi Sundowns players dominated as South Africa’s finest were feted

Orlando Pirates midfielder Patrick Maswanganyi and Mamelodi Sundowns goalkeeper Ronwen Williams are the big winners at the PSL Awards announced on Sunday.

Maswanganyi took home three trophies being; PSL Players’ Player of the Season, voted for by his peers, PSL Midfielder of the Season, and Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament awards.

Williams, meanwhile, was voted the PSL Player of the Season by coaches while he was also installed as the Goalkeeper of the Season.

Relebohile Mofokeng also won multiple awards

Maswanganyi managed five goals in 27 PSL matches and impressed in midfield for Pirates as they finished second behind Mamelodi Sundowns while he scored four in five Nedbank Cup matches, including a penalty in the final, as the Buccaneers retained their crown.

Another big winner at the awards was Orlando Pirates' teen sensation Relebohile Mofokeng as he won both the PSL Young Player of the Season and the Nedbank Cup Most Promising Player of the Tournament at the virtual gala.

It was widely expected for the 19-year-old who scored five goals and provided six assists in 2023-24 in his debut campaign in the senior team which has left him attracting interest from teams overseas.

Pirates’ goal heroes also recognised for their efforts

At the awards, Mamelodi Sundowns tactician Rhulani Mokwena was named Coach of the Season while Grant Kekana, also of Sundonws, walked home with Defender of the Season gong.

The Golden Boot went to Pirates’ 16-goal hero Tshegofatso Mabasa while his team-mate Thabiso Lebitso scooped the Goal of the Season award following his cracker in the Soweto derby.

Devin Titus of Stellenbosch FC claimed the Carling Knockout Player of the Tournament award, while Orlando Pirates goalkeeper Sipho Chaine walked away with the MTN8 Last Man Standing.

PSL Awards: All winners

Player of the Season: Ronwen Williams

Player’s Player of the Season: Patrick Maswanganyi

Coach of the Season: Rhulani Mokwena

Goalkeeper of the Season: Ronwen Williams

Defender of the Season: Grant Kekana

Midfielder of the Season: Patrick Maswanganyi

Young Player of the Season: Relebohile Mofokeng

Top Goalscorer: Tshegofatso Mabasa

Chairman’s award: Mamelodi Sundowns Sundowns

MTN8 Last Man Standing: Sipho Chaine

Carling Knockout Player of the Tournament: Devin Titus

Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament: Patrick Maswanganyi

Nedbank Cup Most Promising Player: Relebohile Mofokeng

Diski Challenge Rewired Player of the Season: Ntando Nkosi

Diski Challenge Top Goalscorer: Thabang Mahlangu (17 goals)

Motsepe Foundation Championship Top Goal scorer: Prince Nxumalo (18 goals)

Referee of the Season: Sikhumbuzo Gasa

Assistant Referee of the Season: Romario Phiri

Avatar photo
Joel Oliver

Joel Oliver is a seasoned multimedia sports journalist with a rich background in covering diverse football stories and events in South Africa and beyond.

His extensive coverage spans subjects touching on the PSL, with a focus on the Big Three (Orlando Pirates, Kaizer Chiefs & Mamelodi Sundowns), Bafana Bafana and Banyana Banyana.