Orlando Pirates players dominate Nedbank Cup team of the season after successful title defence

The Soweto giants’ run to the crown did not go unnoticed as their stars filled the competition’s best XI.

Orlando Pirates players have dominated the Nedbank Cup team of the season following their victory over Mamelodi Sundowns in the final last weekend.

Pirates came from a goal down to win 2-1 when Patrick Maswanganyi’s penalty and substitute Relebohile Mofokeng’s last-minute goal cancelled out Themba Zwane’s strike to defend their title.

That victory has seen the Sea Robbers players dominate the team of the season with six Buccaneers stars in the selected XI.

Match winner Mofokeng, goalkeeper Sipho Chaine, who saved a penalty, Thapelo Xoki, Thabiso Sesane, Patrick Maswanganyi and Tshegofatso Mabasa have all made the team.

There was no place for semi-finalists Chippa United

Stellenbosch FC, who reached the semi-final before losing to Sundowns, have three players in the side; being Fawaaz Basadien, Devin Titus and Iqraam Rayners, while the competition’s runners-up have Khuliso Mudau and Marcelo Allende in the best XI.

There was no place for a Chippa United player despite their gallant fight that ended with a 3-1 loss to Pirates in the semi-final.

Pirates completed the season in memorable fashion when they survived Sundowns’ pressure to emerge victorious with Mofokeng slotting home a late winner to defend their title.

Orlando Pirates closer to matching Kaizer Chiefs’ haul

That was the Bucs’ 19th goal in the Nedbank Cup in the just-concluded campaign, making them the top scorers in the competition, having won by three or more goals en route to the final.

Back-to-back Nedbank Cup wins saw the Soweto giants get closer to their bitter rivals Kaizer Chiefs with their 10 titles now just three behind Amakhosi’s haul.

Avatar photo
Joel Oliver

Joel Oliver is a seasoned multimedia sports journalist with a rich background in covering diverse football stories and events in South Africa and beyond.

His extensive coverage spans subjects touching on the PSL, with a focus on the Big Three (Orlando Pirates, Kaizer Chiefs & Mamelodi Sundowns), Bafana Bafana and Banyana Banyana.