Nasreddine Nabi ends Morocco spell trophyless ahead of Kaizer Chiefs announcement

The incoming Amakhosi tactician signed off from FAR Rabat with a cup final defeat

Soon-to-be unveiled Kaizer Chiefs coach Nasreddine Nabi endured a losing end to his stint at Moroccan side FAR Rabat after defeat in the Throne Cup final on Monday.

Nabi, who will be moving to Naturena in the coming days, was hoping to sign off with a win and some piece of silverware, but ended the campaign trophyless after Raja Casablanca claimed a 2-1 victory.

Raja went ahead after just six minutes through Yousri Bouzok but FAR Rabat fought back and drew level 22 minutes later via Amine Zouhzouh. However, Mohamed Boulacsou settled the contest 11 minutes from time as former Orlando Pirates coach Josef Zinnbauer denied Nabi victory.

It was the final match for the Tunisian coach in charge of the Moroccan club before he heads to Chiefs where he will be unveiled in the coming days.

Poor finish to a season that promised so much for Nabi 

Nabi had made it clear that he would only join the Soweto giants after his final match with FAR Rabat, hoping to end his one-year stay in Morocco with a trophy, but he leaves disappointed.

It is a poor finish to a season that promised so much for Nabi and FAR Rabat, who were top of the league standings for 18 weeks before a slip up in the final weeks allowed Raja to close in and ultimately win the title, before completing the double on Tuesday.  

FAR Rabat will blame Chiefs somewhat for distracting their coach at a crucial stage of their season as the rumours to Amakhosi surfaced when the club were in a tight battle for the two trophies.

The 58-year-old has a big job on his hands at Chiefs who finished a disappointing 10th in the PSL last season. 

Avatar photo
Joel Oliver

Joel Oliver is a seasoned multimedia sports journalist with a rich background in covering diverse football stories and events in South Africa and beyond.

His extensive coverage spans subjects touching on the PSL, with a focus on the Big Three (Orlando Pirates, Kaizer Chiefs & Mamelodi Sundowns), Bafana Bafana and Banyana Banyana.