Nigeria name AFCON squad

Super Eagles coach Peseiro has picked a squad of 25 players as Nigeria gears up for its shot at a fourth Africa Cup of Nations title. The Portuguese  went with some familiar faces, assembling a team comprising three goalkeepers, nine defenders, five midfielders, and eight forwards.

The return of Captain Ahmed Musa headlines the squad, making a comeback after sitting out the initial games in the 2026 FIFA World Cup qualification series.

 Also joining the squad is South Africa-based goalkeeper Stanley Nwabili who has been in great form of recent alongside Francis Uzoho and Olorunleke Ojo.

2013 AFCON heroes included

Notable mentions in the team include Kenneth Omeruo, who shone in the 2009 U17 World Cup and was part of Nigeria’s triumphant 2013 squad, and Wilfred Ndidi who is back after missing recent World Cup qualifying matches.

Photo credit: Iconsport
Victor Osimhen of Nigeria celebrates his goal during the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations Qualifiers game between Nigeria and Sao Tome and Principe at Godswill Akpabio Stadium in Uyo, Nigeria on 10 September 2023 Justina Aniefiok/Sports Inc

They join a formidable lineup featuring names like Alex Iwobi, Victor Osimhen, Kelechi Iheanacho, and others.

The squad will link up for a one-week training camp in Abu Dhabi, UAE, starting from January 2nd before heading back to Nigeria on the January 9th and then to Abidjan on the 10th  for their Group A clashes against Equatorial Guinea, host nation Cote d’Ivoire, and Guinea Bissau.

Nigeria, aiming for its fourth continental title, has a storied history in the Africa Cup of Nations, triumphing in 1980, 1994, and 2013.

Squad list


Stanley Nwabili (Chippa United, South Africa); Francis Uzoho (Omonia FC, Cyprus); Olorunleke Ojo (Enyimba FC)


Olaoluwa Aina (Nottingham Forest, England); Chidozie Awaziem (Boavista FC, Portugal); Bright Osayi-Samuel (Fenerbahce FC, Turkey); William Troost-Ekong (PAOK Salonika, Greece); Bruno Onyemaechi (Boavista FC, Portugal); Kenneth Omeruo (Kasimpasa FC, Turkey); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Calvin Bassey (Fulham FC, England); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal)


Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Raphael Onyedika (Club Brugge, Belgium); Joe Ayodele-Aribo (Southampton FC, England); Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Alex Iwobi (Fulham FC, England)


Ahmed Musa (Sivasspor K, Turkey); Victor Osimhen (Napoli SC, Italy); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Sadiq Umar (Real Sociedad, Spain); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Ademola Lookman (Atalanta FC, Italy); Samuel Chukwueze (AC Milan, Italy); Victor Boniface (Bayer Leverkusen, Germany)

Nigeria name AFCON squad
Andrew Randa

Andrew Randa is a seasoned Africa sports journalist, and a former Media Officer for Nigeria's U-20 national team. He is widely acknowledged as an authority on the NPFL and African football, Randa is esteemed for his expertise in football content creation. Furthermore, he holds the distinction of being Nigeria's foremost sports kit designer and a trailblazer in the realm of sports graphics in Nigeria.