A look at goalkeepers who’ve scooped Footballer of the Season award in PSL history

Ronwen Williams bagged the main award of the night, walking away with the Footballer of the Season at the 2024 PSL Awards on Sunday. Here’s a look at previous goalkeepers who have won the accolade in the PSL history.

Mamelodi Sundowns shot-stopper Williams became the third goalkeeper to secure this top honour since the establishment of the Premier League Soccer League in 1996.

Williams won the award after impressive performances, helping the Brazilians to win their seventh successive DStv Premiership. He produced 15 clean sheets in 22 league games he played, conceding only eight goals.

Overall, he notched 30 clean sheets, conceding only 19 goals in 46 appearances across all competitions.

He also received the DStv Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season award for the second time, adding to his collection of awards.


Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs)

The 37-year-old, Khune won the prestigious award in 2013 after stellar campaign he had when Kaizer Chiefs won the 2012/13 ABSA Premiership league title and Nedbank Cup under the tutelage of Stuart Baxter.

Khune reigned supreme as he walked away with four awards – Footballer of the Season, Player’s Player of the Season, Goalkeeper of the Season and Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament.

In the same year, former Bafana Bafana captain, Khune went on to be named the South African Sports Star of the Year in the SA Sports Awards.

He beat swimmer Chad le Clos, cricketer Hashim Amla, wheelchair tennis player Lucas Sithole and athlete Mapaseka Makhanya to the coveted.

Andre Arendse (Santos)

He won the Footballer of the Season award after his heroics helping lowly Santos win the league in the 2001/02 season.

His impressive performances also helped him cement his place at Bafana Bafana as the national team had qualified for the 2002 World Cup in Korea/Japan.


PSL Footballer of the Season: Ronwen Williams (Mamelodi Sundowns)

DStv Premiership Player’s Player of the Season: Patrick Maswanganyi (Orlando Pirates)

DStv Premiership Coach of the Season: Rulani Mokwena (Mamelodi Sundowns)

DStv Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season: Ronwen Williams (Mamelodi Sundowns)

DStv Premiership Defender of the Season: Grant Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns)

DStv Premiership Midfielder of the Season: Patrick Maswanganyi (Orlando Pirates

DStv Premiership Young Player of the Season: Relebohile Mofokeng (Orlando Pirates)

DStv Premiership Top Goal Scorer: Tshegofatso Mabasa (Orlando Pirates)

DStv Premiership Goal of the Season: Thabiso Lebitso (Orlando Pirates)

MTN8 Last Man Standing: Sipho Chaine (Orlando Pirates)

Carling Knockout Cup Player of the Tournament: Devin Titus (Stellenbosch FC)

Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament: Patrick Maswanganyi (Orlando Pirates)

Nedbank Cup Most Promising Player of the Season: Relebohile Mofokeng (Orlando Pirates)

DStv Diski Challenge Rewired Player of the Season: Ntando Nkosi (Mamelodi Sundowns)

DStv Diski Challenge Top Scorer: Thabang Mahlangu 

(SuperSport United)

Motsepe Foundation Championship Top Scorer: Prince Nxumalo (JDR Stars)

Referee of the Season: Sikhumbuzo Gasa

Assistant Referee of the Season: Romario Phiri

Chairman’s Award: Mamelodi Sundowns

Avatar photo
Nkosiyabuya Sithole

Nkosiyabuya Sithole, a young and rising sports journalist based in Durban, South Africa, harbors a deep passion for football. Nevertheless, he aspires to become a well-rounded journalist, adept in various areas of the field.

Nkosi's career began in 2020, working as a home-based writer during the COVID-19 pandemic. He has since written for various websites, including Briefly News, FiND-iT News, and The South African. Attending live sporting events is a particular pleasure for him, as they provide opportunities for interaction with sports personalities.

Outside of the office, he's a God-fearing and affable young man.