Nigeria vs South Africa AFCON 2024: Super Eagles player ratings

Nigeria's Super Eagles triumphed over South Africa's Bafana Bafana on Wednesday, as both teams battled for a place in the Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON 2024) final.

With both teams tied after 120 minutes of play, the game had to be decided on penalties.

These are our Super Eagles player ratings for Nigeria vs South Africa:

Super Eagles player ratings

Stanley Nwabali – 9.0

Stanley Nwabali put up a man-of-the-match performance against Bafana Bafana, as his two penalty saves clinched a final spot for Nigeria.

The Chippa United player also made four saves in 120 minutes, and only conceded from the spot.

Stanley Nwabali super Eagles player ratings
Photo by Icon Sport

Semi Ajayi – 7.4

Semi Ajayi prevented Bafana Bafana from scoring with a well-timed sliding tackle. He also had five tackles, a clearance and an interception.

William Troost-Ekong – 8.0

William Troost-Ekong opened the scoring on Wednesday, calmly converting from the spot.

He has now scored two goals at this tournament, and two goals in his last two clashes with South Africa.

Calvin Bassey – 7.0

The Super Eagles conceded for the first time with Calvin Bassey on the field, even though it was a penalty.

Bassey did his part defensively, even though it wasn't his best performance of the tournament.

Bright Osayi-Samuel – 7.3

Bright Osayi-Samuel replaced Zaidu Sanusi in the starting line-up, and he impressed on Wednesday.

The Fenerbahce player completed three of three dribbles whilst completing 91 per cent (31/34) of his passes.

In 119 minutes of play, Osayi-Samuel lost possession just five times.

Frank Onyeka – 7.3

Frank Onyeka provided some cover for the defence, with four interceptions, three tackles and a blocked shot. He also completed 85 percent (29/34) of his passes.

Super Eagles player ratings
Photo by Icon Sport

Alex Iwobi – 6.8

Alex Iwobi was on the field for 63 minutes before being replaced by Alhassan Yusuf. He managed to get a shot on target.

Ola Aina – 6.5

Ola Aina missed a penalty that could've potentially cost the Super Eagles. He was also 1/6 in crosses, and 1/7 in long balls.

Moses Simon – 6.0

After an impressive performance against Angola, Moses Simon wasn't at his best on Wednesday.

The Nantes player contested nine ground duels, winning just one of them. Although he had just 29 touches in 63 minutes, Simon lost possession 15 times.

Ademola Lookman – 6.2

Ademola Lookman struggled against Bafana Bafana. He was 2/15 in ground duels, and 1/5 in dribble attempts.

The Atalanta player also lost possession 14 times, whilst committing six fouls.

Super Eagles player ratings
Photo by Icon Sport

Victor Osimhen – 7.5

Victor Osimhen was responsible for Nigeria's first goal. He also found the net just before the 90-minute mark, although that goal was nullified due to Alhassan Yusuf's foul on Percy Tau.

Alhassan Yusuf – 5.5

Alhassan Yusuf committed an unnecessary foul on Percy Tau, which could've cost the Super Eagles. He was also 0 for 7 in ground duels, and 0 for 2 in aerial duels.

Samuel Chukwueze – 7.0

Samuel Chukwueze replaced an underperforming Moses Simon, and was impressive against Bafana Bafana.

The AC Milan player won six of nine ground dukes, and all his three dribble attempts were successful.

Super Eagles player ratings
Photo by Icon Sport

Joe Aribo – 6.5

Joe Aribo didn't get much playing time, so he did nothing noteworthy.

Kelechi Iheanacho – 7.0

Nigeria's hopes were on Kelechi Iheanacho, and he didn't disappoint. The former Manchester City player was calm and composed as he converted from the spot, sending the Super Eagles to the final.

Terem Moffi – 7.0

Terem Moffi impressed on his AFCON debut. He didn't hesitate to take the first penalty, and converted it majestically.

The Nice player also had a great chance to score, but was fouled by Grant Kekana, leading to a red card.

Avatar photo
Kelechi Udoka

Kelechi is an avid Enyimba fan who enjoys writing about the beautiful game. He has written thousands of articles for a few publications over the years.